Superclásico : Movie Review

6992275

Due to the boredom from living in such a small town, I always scour the internet to look for any events – mainly of cultural nature – that I can attend to inject some semblance of spirit into my slumbering life. My search hasn’t always been fruitful, but there were times when I struck gold.

“Europe on Screen, Screening Soon 3-12 May,” said the poster when my brother and I arrived at Alliance Française de Medan to check out the movie to be screened this evening, Superclásico. It is one of the six movies that will be shown in Medan with other cities in Indonesia – Bandung, Denpasar, Surabaya, Jogjakarta – screening different collection. I was pretty excited about this event, particularly because it involves movies, and they are from Europe, and they have nabbed numerous awards across the globe. So yeah, I was sold. Have I told you that the event is also free? Talk about good things that come in threes fours.

There weren’t a lot of people who came to the viewing: the most attendees being the local Indonesians; a handful of Caucasians, French mostly; and my brother and I, who stuck out like a sore thumb. This is the first time in my life in which I found myself in a setting where the Caucasians outnumbered the local Chinese, in my quaint little town. When the lights were darkened at around half past seven, I was only too grateful to ease myself into my seat after smiling nervously to strangers for half an hour.

Superclásico (2011) is a comedy movie filmed in Buenos Aires about the divorce of a Danish couple and the ramifications affecting their closest ones. Taking the center stage in the movie is a slightly paunchy, middle-aged wine seller, Christian, who is having the crappiest time of his life. His wine-selling business is going bankrupt, his wife, Anna, is leaving him for a young, handsome footballer at the peak of his career, and his son, Oscar, is going through the weird phase in his puberty, always wearing black and photographing everything in sight with his Canon camera. He is miserable, old, and lonely. In the last attempt to get his wife back, he flies with Oscar to Buenos Aires where Anna works as a football agent now. Christian is picturing about reunion and sweeping Anna off her feet when he arrives at the sweltering city. Instead, he finds out that his wife is asking for a divorce from him in order to marry Juan Diaz, her voyeuristic footballer of a boyfriend. So what does someone usually do to cope with a situation like this? One way or another, it will involve some form of alcohol and a lot of bad decisions. For Christian, he gets roaring drunk every night drinking red wine at bars and wakes up at strange places. For Oscar, he takes the news as his cue to be rebellious. He runs away from his mother’s house and stays at a local hostel after being fed up with his parents’ bickering. And as the usual in comedies, after a whole feast of conflicts, everybody will finally simmer down and make amends. The movie wraps up up with the scene of Anna’s wedding to Juan Diaz and Christian giving a toast. Christian is not bitter anymore with his wife and Oscar ends up having a girlfriend. Voilà! Happy ending for everybody.

Verdict for the movie:
I liked the witty dialogues of the actors and the scores for the movie, which is enough reason to watch it. However, I wish the character of the maid of the house, whose name I can’t remember, were explored and not only created solely for the purpose of generating awkward, although funny moments in the movie with Christian.

I recommend this movie for anybody who appreciates smart comedy, although maybe not for those who are under the age of 18 as there are some crude images and quite a lot of profanities. 3.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

